You'll need to log in to the directory to make changes. Instructions are in Managing Your Profile in the MCommunity Directory (S4380).
The Away Message sends an automatic message to anyone who sends a message to you. Use it to let people know when you are away from email, such as when you are on vacation.
You set an away notice by changing your personal profile in the directory. See the instructions in the Other Information About You (Away Message and More) section of the document, Managing Your Profile in the MCommunity Directory (s4380).
Remember to turn the away message off when you return.
Some information about you appears automatically. Other information, you can control.
Names cannot be changed in MCommunity Directory profiles, and must be altered at the source. You can set a preferred name (a name other than your legal name that you prefer to be called) using Wolverine Access. For details, see The U-M Preferred Names Policy and Your Directory Entry (R1461).
If the group is joinable, you can remove yourself. If the group is not joinable, you will need to contact the group owner(s) and ask to be removed from the group. For details, see Managing Your Membership in MCommunity Directory Groups (S4381).
If you own groups in the MCommunity Directory that you don't need anymore, delete those old groups and reduce spam for yourself and the other group members. Only group owners can delete groups.
You must renew your groups once a year. See the Renewing Groups instructions in Managing Groups that You Own in the MCommunity Directory (S4382).
Basically, you need to add the new owner(s) and remove the old one(s). Only the owner of a group can make changes to a group. For instructions, see the Members, Owners, and Moderators section of Managing Groups that You Own in the MCommunity Directory (S4382).
If the owner of the group has left the university or is otherwise unreachable, contact the ITS Service Center for assistance.
We recommend that groups used for university business have multiple owners to make group management easier.
The list of group members can be hidden from public view in the settings of the group. The group can be set so that only the members can see the member list, and they must be logged in to the directory to do so. Only the group owner can make this setting. Note that making the group's member list private does not prevent non-members from sending email to the group.
Instructions are provided in the Making Changes to a Group section of the document, Managing Groups that You Own in the MCommunity Directory (S4382)
You'll need to contact the group's owner(s) and ask that the group be set such that only members can see the member list. For details, see the Group Privacy and E-mail Settings section of Managing Your Membership in MCommunity Directory Groups (S4381).
No, they will only get one copy. If you send a message to more than one MCommunity group, and a person is in more than one of those groups, that person will only get one copy of the message. U-M's Mail Gateway works with MCommunity to prevent duplicate copies. If, however, you send a message to groups in different systems, such as MCommunity and an external listserv or group, and a person is in several of them, they will get duplicates.
Yes. M+Google recognizes that you sent the message, and puts it only in your sent mail folder.
If there are moderators set on the group, or if you are not a member but are sending mail to a group which only accepts mail from other members, your message may not be sent. See Group Privacy and E-Mail Settings for more.
Contact the ITS Service Center for answers to questions about the MCommunty Directory.